Top 40 Pregnancy Acronyms You Need To Know

pregnant girl reading

Shortly after I got pregnant with Philip I downloaded a few pregnancy apps to my phone.  The apps are great because they track the growth of the baby week by week and tell you the changes your body is experiencing as well.  They also have checklists, tools (weight gain tracker, kick counter, name lists, etc.), and most apps also have a community forum where women can ask questions and discuss their experiences with other women.  I currently use the Babycenter App and the What to Expect App for this pregnancy.

However, what I didn’t know was that these pregnancy forums have a language all their own jam packed with acronyms that had me so confused in some cases that I had to resort to Google or text my girlfriend to see what these ladies were talking about.  After awhile I saw them so much I actually started using them while posting!  Leave it to a bunch of efficient moms to create an acronym for literally everything that has to do with pregnancy.

So I thought I would help other expecting moms or other moms who are TTC (trying to conceive) 🙂 (there I go…) and share this secret language so you have a leg up when heading into expecting mommy land for the first time.  Another side note I want to mention is that these discussions can get crazy with hundreds of pregnant hormonal women…sometimes these women can get nasty and it’s not pretty.  I just try to stay away from those posts even though I’ll admit they are interesting to read sometimes :/.

So here you go….these are the top 40 acronyms you need to know…

1. AROM – Artificial Rupture of Membranes (when they break your water)
2. BBT – Basal Body Temperature
3. BF – Breastfeed
4. BFN – Big Fat Negative (negative pregnancy test)
5. BFP – Big Fat Positive (positive pregnancy test)
6.  BIL – Brother-In-Law
7. BM – Breastmilk or Bowel Movement
8. CM – Cervical Mucus
9. CS – C-section
10. DD – Dear Daughter
11. DF – Dear Fiance
12. DH – Dear Husband
13. DPO – Days Past Ovulation
14. DS – Dear Son
15. DSD – Dear Stepdaughter
16. DSS – Dear Stepson
17. DTD – Do the Deed
18. EBF – Exclusively Breastfeed
19. EDD – Estimated Due Date
20. FF – Formula Fed
21. FIL – Father-in-Law
22. FTM – First Time Mom
23. GD – Gestational Diabetes
24. IMO – In My Opinion
25. L&D – Labor and Delivery
26. LO – Little One
27. MC – Miscarriage
28. MIL – Mother-in-Law
29. ML – Maternity Leave
30. OP – Original Post
31. OT – Off Topic
32. PPD – Post Partum Depression
33. ROM – Rupture of Membranes (when your water breaks)
34. SAHM – Stay at Home Mom
35. SIL – Sister-in-Law
36. SO – Significant Other
37. TTC – Trying to Conceive
38. US – Ultrasound
39. VBAC – Vaginal Birth After C-section
40. NUVBAC – Natural Unmedicated Vaginal Birth After C-section

Did I miss any? Please share in the comments section if so!

I hope you’re having a great week!

Leave a Reply

